Kids Clothes Week, Day 1

IMG_2971

This is my first time sewing along for Kids Clothes Week. Here’s what I made today- a pair of summer jammies for the tiny girl. I wanted her to have something cooler and cuter than a onesie to wear to Grandma’s lake house while all the family is visiting this summer. That fits the “traveling” theme, right?

I used fabric from my mom’s stash, that she brought to me. It is likely 100% polyester, not ideal, but it should be cool anyway. I love the design, but I wish I’d made the top smaller. I plan to reuse the shorts pattern later this week; they are already a modification of a pants pattern I drafted earlier this year for her. She’s a tough tiny to fit, and I am satisfied with this pattern, though it isn’t perfect. If I had time, I’d modify the top by replacing the straps with narrower ones, take in the elastic 1/2″ across the bodice front and back, and lower the casing about 1/2″. Next time I sew a top like this I will also put the bias tape around the arm holes before I stitch the casing across the bodice front and back. Don’t know I didn’t this time…

I look forward to tomorrow’s project and seeing what everyone else is making 🙂

One thought on “Kids Clothes Week, Day 1

  1. Pingback: Kids Clothes Week, Days 2+3 | theuprightbaby

Leave a Reply

