Kids Clothes Week, Days 2+3

Yesterday was a tough day to get much sewing done for Kids Clothes Week. Yet, today I am pressing on šŸ˜‰ Here’s the swim shorts I made for baby girl.

IMG_2998

Swim shorts for a baby girl? Yes! She is very fair and for long days by the lake with Grandparents (there’s the traveling theme again!), we have found protective clothing to be superior to sunscreens. Note the long sleeved swim shirt. I intend to make her a matching sun hat for this outfit, if fabric and time permit. She is not modeling her new pieces today as she is napping- which is why I am blogging! And my poor husband will be doing the dishes tonight šŸ˜¦ since this is how I am spending nap time.

I chose tutti frutti for these swim shorts because polyester doesn’t hold much water, so it will dry really quickly, and they won’t be super heavy when wet. The little lady selected the little bird print herself. The thick waistband is to help them stay up and prevent tummy show, while the back rise is significantly longer, and the backwaist is elasticized, both to provide coverage and movement. They’re a modification of the PJ shorts pattern from day 1. I trimmed down the casing allowance (so the shorts themselves end at the part of her tummy where her pants usually rest + added seam allowance), created a wide waistband (which will sit higher on her tummy than usual) and trimmed about 1/2″ off the width of each leg (so she won’t have so much extra fabric to weigh her down when wet).

I also revisited that pajama top from day 1 as well. I decided to make her a second one, which fits better. I completed the modifications I mentioned in the day 1 post. It was very quick sewing, and I will try to include a pattern and a tutorial here on the blog in the next few weeks as it may be something other seamstresses might enjoy.

Ā IMG_3000

IMG_2991

One thought on “Kids Clothes Week, Days 2+3

  1. Pingback: Kids Clothes Week, Day 4 | theuprightbaby

Leave a Reply

